Jumping Young Ambassador Award

Since 1987

Jumping Young Ambassador of the Year Award

The Jumping Young Ambassador of the Year award is one of the most exciting awards on the Equestrian Victoria Calendar for our youth jumping riders.

Open to all Young Riders who meet the eligibility requirements, the award features some of the best of Victoria’s young riders in three Olympic Disciplines and one National Discipline – Show Horse. The award is aimed at athletes aged between 16-21 years of age who demonstrate outstanding sportsmanship and performance results in their chosen discipline.

The award highlights the importance of being more than just a winner, encouraging riders to demonstrate their exceptionalism through volunteering, horse welfare, sportsmanship, presentation, communication skills, knowledge, performance and making contributions to the sport.

The Top 10 Finalists are invited to a unique training weekend showcasing Victoria’s young riders, coaches and volunteers from all over the state. The enthusiasm, commitment and success are the result of many productive and formative hours spent with horses and contributing back into the sport.

The award dating back to 1987 has been a highlight and privilege of many developing riders throughout the generations, with some of the current top riders in our sports being named previous winners.


Our Current 2020 Young Ambassador of the Year Winner is Jessica Grant!

Jess is a member of our 2020 Junior and Young Rider State Squad and has been competing in the jumping sport for numerous years.

1987 Felecia Fergie
1988 Scott Callander
1989 Stephen Lamb
1990 Paul Brent
1991 Adam Wootten
1992 Megan Konecny
1993 Brook Dobbin
1994 Melissa Froesch
1995 Rebecca Allen
2001  Hayley Kelly
2002  Timothy Clarke
2003  Matthew Williams
2004  Cassie White
2005  Jamie Kermond
2006 Amanda Barclay
2007  Kate Brideoak
2008  Megan Joyce
2009  Toni Scattergood
2010 Kristy Howarth
2011 Paige Jardin
2012 Annica Robertson
2013 Zoe Bolton
2014  Courtney Shears
2015  Tegan Chester
2016 Joel Pearce
2017 Max Height
2018 Darcy Wade
2019 Emily Stirling
2020 Jessica Grant